Board of Trustees

Stained Glass Castle Window

The Maryvale Preparatory School Board of Trustees is comprised of dedicated professionals including alumnae, parents of both current students and alumnae, Sisters of Notre Dame de Namur and community leaders. The Board focuses on both the current and future needs of Maryvale.

2020-2021 Board of Trustees

Mary Ellen Gallagher Barthelme '72
Chair, Maryvale Board of Trustees

Kathleen A. Birrane '77
Of Counsel
DLA Piper

Richard M. Brigstocke
Director, Tenant Coordination
The Bozzuto Group

Patricia M.C. Brown '78
President, Oncology
Medically Home Group

Paul J. Chew, CFA
Chief Investment Officer
Brown Advisory

Anthony I. Day
Loyola Blakefield

Tracey H. Ford
Maryvale Preparatory School

Justin Gerbereux
Director of Credit Research
T. Rowe Price Group, Inc.

Mercedes P. Greene '90
Facilities Project Manager
Air Force

John S. Halaby, Sr.
Executive Vice President and Head of Distribution
Harbor Capital Advisors

Nicole R. Onorato Hewitt, Esq. '92
Managing Member
HWK Law Group, LLC

Sr. Edithann C. Kane, SNDdeN
Sisters of Notre Dame de Namur Representative

Stephen Kearney
KO Public Affairs

Patricia Kirby, Ph.D.
President and Managing Partner
Friendship Realty Corp.

Elizabeth Boddiford Klein '08
Morgan Stanley

Dr. Winsome J. Leslie
President and CEO
DevSolutions Consulting, LLC

Sr. Patricia Loome, SNDdeN '62
Sisters of Notre Dame de Namur Representative

Elizabeth Macsherry Moag '79
Community Volunteer

Claire Mosmiller Moore '65
Former Vice President of Student Affairs
Stevenson University

Jack J. Nelson
Aiseraigh Capital Management

John M. Novotny
Chief Financial Officer
Glen Arm Building Co., LLC

Ellen Pierce
Managing Director, Regional Director
UBS Financial Services, Inc.
Mid-Atlantic Region

Jovie Soriano
Senior Vice President of Marketing and Business Development
IZI Medical Products, LLC

Dominick M. Valencia, Jr.
Vice President of Human Resources & Chief Corporate Compliance Officer

Marty Voelkel-Hanssen, Esq. '75
Marty Voelkel-Hanssen Law

Roger A. Waesche, Jr. LS '68
Corsica Capital Partners

John Williams
Chief Financial Officer
The Nelson Company

Former Chairs of the Maryvale Board of Trustees

1978 - Joe Welsh

1979 - Stan Seibert

1979 - Carlyle Montanye

Completed Mr. Siebert's term

1979-1981 - Robert Sanford

1981-1983 - John McCann

1983-1987 - Robert Bowie

1987-1992 - Herbert O'Conor

1992-1996 - George Litz

1996-1998 - Patricia J. Mitchell '65

1998-2001 - Marion Connolly '68

2001-2004 - James Linz†

2004-2007 - Marci Prosser Reihart '73

2007-2010 - Robert Cawley

2010-2013 - J. Brian Jarboe

2013-2016 - Anthony G. Moag

2016-2018 - John M. Novotny

† deceased

Maryvale Strategic Plan

It is with great pride that we share Maryvale’s Strategic Plan, which will determine our priorities and drive our investments for the next three years.

The Board of Trustees, Leadership Team, students, faculty, staff, parents, alumnae and friends have worked with diligence and dedication during the past two years on a strategy that reflects your voices, opinions and experiences.

Approved in January of 2017, the Strategic Plan reaffirms Maryvale’s mission and values rooted in the hallmarks of the Sisters of Notre Dame de Namur, while building on the school’s strength of providing a customized approach to education - ensuring that all girls can learn, lead and succeed academically, spiritually, physically and emotionally.

Learn more about the future of Maryvale