Maryvale Art students applauded during annual art show


2018 President's Award Winner - Julia Harman '18Maryvale’s beautiful McCarthy Gallery played host on May 15 to the annual art show, which featured a variety of pieces from our talented students. During the program, Art Department faculty members honored the top three students in both digital and traditional media categories. Following, Julia Harman ’18 was presented with the 2018 President’s Award. Maryvale will purchase Julia’s piece, “Rainbow Lady” (oil on canvas), to be added to the school’s permanent collection of student and alumnae artwork. 

Additionally, 29 Upper Schoolers were celebrated and inducted into Maryvale’s chapter of the National Art Honor Society during a special ceremony. Founded by the National Art Education Association, the National Art Honor Society is an organization that is committed to recognizing and honoring high school students throughout the country who exhibit outstanding abilities in visual art. Through their effort, outlook and dedication in the field of art, these students consistently demonstrate the highest qualities of art scholarship, character and service. 

Congratulations to Julia, the award recipients, the National Art Honor Society inductees and all of our remarkable art students.

Digital Media Category

First Place: Julia Harman ’18 

Second Place: Katie Lange ’19 

Third Place: Jenna DiPeso ’19 

Honorable Mention: April Conway ’19 and Elizabeth Scully ’18

Traditional Media Category

First Place: Erin Coyne ’18 

Second Place: Sophie Rives ’20 

Third Place: Delaney Page ’18 

Honorable Mention: Alex Martinez ’18 and Maggie Stalter ’20


National Art Honor Society Inductees

Class of 2018

Stephanie Carroll

Paige Connell

Taylor Cover

Erin Coyne

Julia Harman

Kaylie Homberg

Abby Lancaster

Alex Martinez

Isabella Mawry

Vy Nguyen

Delaney Page

Elizabeth Scully

Meagan Smith

Maleah Spicer

Mikayla Trainor

Sydney Waters


Class of 2019

Lindsay Armstrong

Sophie Bair

Ally Bonicker

Brittney Graff

Marlee Hale

Kathryn Hubbard

Kaitlyn Hughes

Anna Markulis

Abby Pue

Sarah Schwartz


Class of 2020

Tara Coyne

Lauren Davis

Liza Love