Tyler P. Fick Excellence in Writing Award

The Tyler P. Fick Excellence in Writing Award is given to students whose academic and creative writing exemplifies the pinnacle of expression and scholarship at Maryvale. All Upper School students are eligible for recognition, and teachers are encouraged to nominate students who display exceptional writing in any discipline. Excellence in Writing awards are presented in February and May of every school year, and they help perpetuate a culture of writing at Maryvale inspired by the life of Tyler P. Fick '99.

2017 Excellence in Writing Award Recipients

*Presented during the 2016-2017 school year

Class of 2017

Emily Alcara

Gabrielle Amanfo

Rebecca Behner

Amanda Jenkins

Hannah Laue

Kate Malone

Class of 2018

Paige Connell

Erin Coyne

Elisa Rodriguez

Elizabeth Scully

Class of 2019

Elaina Stevers

Ally Bonicker

Isabel Pineo

Class of 2020

Lyssa Kagel

Carley Laue

Karenna Aparece

Past Award Winners


Class of 2016

Madison Feser

Victoria Fuller

Amanda Walters

Class of 2017

Mya Buschman

Hannah Laue

Class of 2018

Olivia du Bois

Class of 2019

Kaelyn Richardson


Class of 2015

Rebecca Malstrom

Maria Markulis

Olivia Martin

Alyssa Radovanovich

Class of 2016

Brianna Cimino

Kathleen Kapfer

Mary Claire McCullough

Tamia Morris

Allison Wade

Amanda Walters

Class of 2017

Annie Burns

Class of 2018

Erin Coyne

Colleen Neely