Faculty Directory

All Maryvale faculty members hold Bachelor’s degrees; close to 40 hold Master’s degrees or are enrolled in Master’s programs; and three have a Ph.D.

Academic Administration 

Tracey H. Ford
President 
M.A.S., Carey School of Business, Johns Hopkins University
B.A., Classical Rhetoric and English, University of Virginia 

Dr. Victor Shin 
Upper School Head and Assistant Head of School
shinv@maryvale.com
Ed.D., Educational Leadership, University of Pennsylvania 
M.P.A., University of Baltimore
B.A., Government and Politics, University of Maryland, College Park Scholars' Program
M.S.D.E. Administrator Certification, University of Maryland, College Park 

Amy Belz 
Middle School Head
belza@maryvale.com
M.Ed., Administration, Loyola University Maryland
B.A., Spanish, Notre Dame of Maryland University/Middlebury College
Advanced Certification, Youth Ministry, Archdiocese of Baltimore

Melissa Beljous

Assistant Upper School Head and Director of Multicultural Affairs    
beljousm@maryvale.com
M.A., Literacy K-12, Touro College, Manhattan
B.A., English, State University of New York at Old Westbury

Michael A. Brown, Sr.
Assistant Middle School Head 
brownm@maryvale.com
M.Ed., School Leadership, Goucher College
B.S., Business Administration, Morgan State University
M.S.D.E. Advanced Professional Administrator I Certificate  
 
Monica Graham  
Director of College Counseling
grahamm@maryvale.com
M.B.A., Loyola University Maryland
B.A., Business, Loyola University Maryland

 

Counseling 

Kalea Selmon
Upper School Counselor 
selmonk@maryvale.com
M.S., Counseling, Johns Hopkins University 
B.S., Psychology, Howard University 

Claire Doyle
Middle School Counselor
doylec@maryvale.com
M.A., Counseling Psychology, Boston College 
B.A., Psychology and English, Boston College 
 

Student Life

Jessica Vitrano Randisi '01 
Dean of Students
randisij@maryvale.com
M.A., Teaching Secondary English, Notre Dame of Maryland University
B.A., Theatre, Salisbury University
M.S.D.E. Advanced Professional Teaching Certificate in English 

Jordan Oliver '09
Middle School Director of Student Life
oliverj@maryvale.com
B.A., Communications and Religion, High Point University 


Faculty

English Department

Rance Denton, Department Co-Chair
dentonr@maryvale.com
B.S., English, Towson University 

Mark Lund, Department Co-Chair

lundm@maryvale.com
M.A., English, Duke University
B.A., English, Miami University

Melissa Beljous    

beljousm@maryvale.com
M.A., Literacy K-12, Touro College, Manhattan
B.A., English, State University of New York at Old Westbury

Brian Boston 
bostonb@maryvale.com
M.Ed., Guidance and Counseling, Loyola University Maryland
B.A., English Education, Wilkes College

Betty Coyle
coyleb@maryvale.com

M.Ed., Administration, Loyola University Maryland
B.A., Education, Stratford College 

M.A.T., Secondary English Education, University of Maryland University College
B.A., English Language and Literature, University of Maryland 

 
Ellen Manuel-Smith 
manuele@maryvale.com
M.A., Teaching and Secondary English Certification, Notre Dame of Maryland University
B.A., English, Notre Dame of Maryland University   

Fine Arts Department


Kim Kozak, Department Chair

kozakk@maryvale.com
B.A., Art and Art History, McDaniel College

Courtney Fitzgibbon  
fitzgibbonc@maryvale.com 
M.A., English, Washington College
B.A., Art and English, Washington College

Marlena Murtagh 
murtaghm@maryvale.com 
B.F.A., Maryland Institute College of Art
M.A.A.E., Maryland Institute College of Art 

Leadership Institute

Mary Ellen Rector Fise '74, Director of the Maryvale Leadership Institute

M.A., Church Ministry, Ecumenical Institute of Theology, St. Mary's Seminary & University 
J.D., University of Baltimore School of Law 
B.S., Consumer Economics, University of Maryland 
 

Learning Services

Jennifer Morris Nicholas, Director of the St. Julie Billiart Program 
 

M.A., Leadership in Teaching, Notre Dame of Maryland University 
B.S., Secondary Education, Villanova University   
 
Mary Trompeter, Assistant Director of the St. Julie Billiart Program
trompeterm@maryvale.com
B.A., Elementary Education, Loyola University Maryland

Courtney Fitzgibbon, Learning Specialist  
fitzgibbonc@maryvale.com 
M.A., English, Washington College 
B.A., Art and English, Washington College  
 

Kathleen Donohue Wilder, Learning Specialist 
wilderk@maryvale.com
Master's in Modern Studies (With Honor), Loyola University Maryland
B.A. (Magna Cum Laude), Notre Dame of Maryland University

Rachel Mays, Learning Specialist 
maysr@maryvale.com 
M.A., Liberal Studies, Loyola University
B.A., English, Boston College 

Library

Barbara Lipsky, Library Director 

lipskyb@maryvale.com
M.S.L.S., Library Science, The Catholic University of America 
B.S., Computer Information Systems, York College of Pennsylvania

Bridget Mather
matherb@maryvale.com
M.L.I.S., Library and Information Science, University of South Carolina
B.S., Education, Towson University 
 

Mathematics Department
 

Blair Boehm Dicriscio '01, Department Chair
dicrisciob@maryvale.com
M.S., Mathematics, Applied and Industrial, Towson University 
B.A., Mathematics, Lafayette College
M.S.D.E. Advanced Professional Teaching Certificate in Mathematics

Michael A. Brown, Sr.
brownm@maryvale.com
M.Ed., School Leadership, Goucher College
B.S., Business Administration, Morgan State University
M.S.D.E. Advanced Professional Administrator I Certificate  

Robert Gagliardi
gagliardir@maryvale.com
B.S., Physics, University of Maryland, Baltimore County
B.S., Mathematics, University of Maryland, Baltimore County

Nataliya Goodman
goodmann@maryvale.com
M.Sc., Engineering Physics, Nizhny Nogorod State University, Nizhny Novgorod Russia 
B.A., Engineering Physics, Nizhny Novgorod State University Nizhny Novgorod Russia

Jeanie Grant
grantj@maryvale.com
Masters Equiv., Loyola College, Goucher College, Towson University, Central Michigan University and Texas Instruments
B.S., Math/Education, Towson University 
M.S.D.E. Advanced Professional Teaching Certificate in Mathematics
 
Maggie Sprinkle
sprinklem@maryvale.com
M.S., Educational Technology, Johns Hopkins University
B.S., Business Administration, Lynchburg College

Donna Weber
weberd@maryvale.com

Masters Equiv., Towson University, Loyola University
B.S., Mathematics, Towson University 

Performing Arts Department

Jessica Vitrano Randisi '01, Department Chair
randisij@maryvale.com
M.A., Teaching Secondary English, Notre Dame of Maryland University
B.A., Theatre, Salisbury University
M.S.D.E. Advanced Professional Teaching Certificate in English

Marissa Malloy, Music/Dance Director 
malloym@maryvale.com 
B.M., Music Education, Westminster Choir College of Rider University 

Paul Shapanus, Technical Director
shapanusp@maryvale.com 
B.S., Technical Design and Production for Theatre, Towson University  

Ellen Manuel-Smith, Theatre Director  
manuele@maryvale.com
M.A., Teaching and Secondary English Certification, Notre Dame of Maryland University
B.A., English, Notre Dame of Maryland University  

Physical Education & Athletics Department


Terri Moeser, RAA Director of Athletics

moesert@maryvale.com
M.A., Exercise Science & Physical Education, McDaniel College
B.S., Physical Education, Towson University

Marce Fackler Hughes '88, Department Chair, Assistant Athletic Director
hughesm@maryvale.com 
B.A., Health/Physical Education, Roanoke College

Tricia Giuffrida
giuffridat@maryvale.com
M.S., Applied Health and Physiology, Salisbury University
B.S., Biology, Salisbury University

Science Department
 

Carole R. M. Gonzalez, Department Co-Chair
gonzalezc@maryvale.com  
M.S., Biological Sciences, University of Maryland, Baltimore County 
B.S., Biological Sciences, Mount St. Mary's University 
 

Dr. Karen E. O'Neil, Department Co-Chair
oneilk@maryvale.com
Ph.D., Biological Anthropology, University of Illinois
M.A., Biological Anthropology, University of Illinois
B.A., Anthropology & Russian, State University of New York at Oswego

Veronica Berkstresser
berkstresserv@maryvale.com
B.A., Chemistry, Denison University

Betty Coyle
coyleb@maryvale.com
M.Ed., Administration, Loyola University Maryland
B.A., Education, Stratford College 

Robert Gagliardi
B.S., Physics, University of Maryland, Baltimore County
B.S., Mathematics, University of Maryland, Baltimore County 


Emily Vitrano Waugh '03 
waughe@maryvale.com 
M.A.T., Secondary Education, Notre Dame of Maryland University
B.S., Kinesiology, College of William & Mary 
M.S.D.E. Advanced Professional Teaching Certificate in Biology 

Shannon Zeidler
zeidlers@maryvale.com 
M.A., Leadership in Teaching, Notre Dame of Maryland University
B.S., Family Studies, University of Maryland, College Park
M.S.D.E. Advanced Professional Teaching Certificate in Early Childhood Education and Elementary Education 

Social Studies Department

Sarah Read, Department Chair
reads@maryvale.com 
M.A., History, State University of New York at Buffalo
B.A., History, Canisius College, All-College Honors Program, History Honors Program 
B.A., Secondary Education, Canisius College, All-College Honors Program 
B.A., Spanish, Canisius College, All-College Honors Program

Richard D. Englar 
englarr@maryvale.com
M.A.T., Secondary Social Studies, Temple University
B.A., History (Honors), Wake Forest University

Andrea Jacobs
jacobsa@maryvale.com 
M.S., Public Health, University of California, Los Angeles
B.A., Anthropology, University of California, Los Angeles

Julie M. Matthews
matthewsj@maryvale.com
B.A., History, Loyola College

Randal Smith
smithr@maryvale.com
B.A., Psychology, Pennsylvania State University  

Technology Department
 

George Kapusinski, Technology Coordinator 
kapusinskig@maryvale.com
M.B.A., Franciscan University of Steubenville
B.A., Political Science, The Catholic University of America   

Theology Department
 

Mary Pat Tilghman, Department Chair 
tilghmanm@maryvale.com 
B.A., Education, Loyola University Maryland 
Advanced Certification, Youth Ministry, Archdiocese of Baltimore

Ann Cory
corya@maryvale.com 
M.A., Religious Education, Fordham University 
B.A., Political Science, Fordham University  

Kristin DeVan
devank@maryvale.com
B.A., Theology and Philosophy, Youth Ministry Emphasis, Mount St. Mary’s University

Nathan Nocket 
nocketn@maryvale.com
B.A., Theology, Mount St. Mary’s University 
Level III EQUIP Certification, Youth Ministry & Religious Education, Archdiocese of Baltimore

Dr. Glenda Snavely
snavelyg@maryvale.com  
Ph.D., Social Work, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign 
M.S.W., Social Work, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
B.S.W., Social Work, Indiana State University 

World Languages Department

Sabrina George, Department Chair
georges@maryvale.com 
M.A., Spanish Language and Literature, Ohio University
B.A., French and International Studies, Ohio Wesleyan University 

Amy Barnett
barnetta@maryvale.com
M.B.A., Kellogg Graduate School of Management, Northwestern University
B.A., French Language, Indiana University
 

Amy Belz
belza@maryvale.com
M.Ed., Administration, Loyola University of Maryland
B.A., Spanish, Notre Dame of Maryland University/Middlebury College
Advanced Certification, Youth Ministry, Archdiocese of Baltimore

Victoria Matter
matterv@maryvale.com
J.D., University of Maryland School of Law
B.A., Spanish, Sweet Briar College

M.A., Leadership in Teaching, Notre Dame of Maryland University
B.A., Spanish, Messiah College

Dr. Glenda Snavely 
snavelyg@maryvale.com
Ph.D., Social Work, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign 
M.S.W., Social Work, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
B.S.W., Social Work, Indiana State University
powered by finalsite