Faculty and Staff Directory

All Maryvale faculty members hold Bachelor’s degrees; close to 40 hold Master’s degrees or are enrolled in Master’s programs; and two have Ph.Ds.

Academic Administration 

Tracey H. Ford
President 
M.A.S., Carey School of Business, Johns Hopkins University
B.A., Classical Rhetoric and English, University of Virginia 

Victor Shin 
Upper School Head
shinv@maryvale.com
M.P.A., University of Baltimore
B.A., Government and Politics, University of Maryland, College Park Scholars' Program
M.S.D.E. Administrator Certification, University of Maryland, College Park 

Amy Belz 
Middle School Head
belza@maryvale.com
M.Ed., Administration, Loyola University Maryland
B.A., Spanish, Notre Dame of Maryland University/Middlebury College
Advanced Certification, Youth Ministry, Archdiocese of Baltimore

Jessica Vitrano Randisi '01 
Dean of Students
randisij@maryvale.com
M.A., Teaching Secondary English, Notre Dame of Maryland University
B.A., Theatre, Salisbury University
M.S.D.E. Advanced Professional Teaching Certificate in English 

Kalea Selmon
School Counselor
selmonk@maryvale.com
M.S. Counseling, Johns Hopkins University
B.S. Psychology, Howard University 

Monica Graham  
Director of College Counseling
grahamm@maryvale.com
M.B.A., Loyola University Maryland
B.A., Business, Loyola University Maryland

Melissa Beljous

Assistant Division Head/ Director of Multicultural Affairs    
beljousm@maryvale.com
M.A., Literacy K-12, Touro College, Manhattan
B.A., English, State University of New York at Old Westbury


Faculty

English Department

Mark Lund
 , Department Chair

lundm@maryvale.com
M.A., English, Duke University
B.A., English, Miami University

Brian Boston 
bostonb@maryvale.com
M.Ed., Guidance and Counseling, Loyola University Maryland
B.A., English Education, Wilkes College

Betty Coyle
coyleb@maryvale.com

M.Ed., Administration, Loyola University Maryland
B.A., Education, Stratford College 

Rance Denton
dentonr@maryvale.com
B.S., English, Towson University 

Ellen Manuel 
manuele@maryvale.com
M.A., Teaching and Secondary English Certification, Notre Dame of
Maryland University
B.A., English, Notre Dame of Maryland University   

M.A.T., Secondary English Education, University of Maryland University College
B.A., English Language and Literature, University of Maryland 

 

Fine Arts Department 


Kim Kozak, Department Chair

kozakk@maryvale.com
B.A., Art and Art History, McDaniel College

Marissa Malloy 
malloym@maryvale.com 
B.M., Music Education, Westminster Choir College of Rider University 

Marlena Murtagh 
murtaghm@maryvale.com 

B.F.A., Maryland Institute College of Art
M.A.A.E., Maryland Institute College of Art 

Jessica Vitrano Randisi '01, Theatre Director 
randisij@maryvale.com
M.A., Teaching Secondary English, Notre Dame of Maryland University
B.A., Theatre, Salisbury University
M.S.D.E. Advanced Professional Teaching Certificate in English

Leadership Institute 

Mary Ellen Rector Fise '74, Director of Maryvale Leadership Institute

M.A., Church Ministry, Ecumenical Institute of Theology, St. Mary's Seminary & University 
J.D., University of Baltimore School of Law 
B.S., Consumer Economics, University of Maryland 
 

Learning Services 

Jennifer Morris Nicholas, Director of the St. Julie Billiart Program 
 

M.A., Leadership in Teaching, Notre Dame of Maryland University 
B.S., Secondary Education, Villanova University   
 
Courtney Fitzgibbon, Learning Specialist  
fitzgibbonc@maryvale.com 
M.A., English, Washington College 
B.A., Art/English, Washington College  
 

Kathleen Donohue Lopez, Learning Specialist 
lopezk@maryvale.com
Master's in Modern Studies (With Honor), Loyola University Maryland
B.A. (Magna Cum Laude), Notre Dame of Maryland University

Mary Trompeter, Learning Specialist 
trompeterm@maryvale.com
B.A., Elementary Education, Loyola University Maryland

Rachel Mays
maysr@maryvale.com 
M.A., Liberal Studies, Loyola University
B.A., English, Boston College 

Library

Barbara Lipsky,  Library Director 

lipskyb@maryvale.com
M.S.L.S., Library Science, Catholic University of America 
B.S., Computer Information Systems, York College of Pennsylvania

Bridget Mather
matherb@maryvale.com
M.L.I.S., Library and Information Science, University of South Carolina
B.S., Education, Towson University 
 

Mathematics Department
 

Blair Boehm '01, Department Chair
boehmb@maryvale.com 
M.S., Mathematics, Applied and Industrial, Towson University 
B.A., Mathematics, Lafayette College

Michael A. Brown, Sr.
brownm@maryvale.com
M.Ed., School Leadership, Goucher College
B.S., Business Administration, Morgan State University

Nataliya Goodman
goodmann@maryvale.com
M.Sc., Engineering Physics, Nizhny Nogorod State University, Nizhny Novgorod Russia 
B.A., Engineering Physics, Nizhny Novgorod State University Nizhny Novgorod Russia

Jeanie Grant
grantj@maryvale.com
Masters Equiv., Loyola College, Goucher College, Towson University,
Central Michigan University and Texas Instruments
B.S. in Math/Education, Towson University 
Advanced Professional Teaching Certificate in Mathematics
 
Maggie Sprinkle
sprinklem@maryvale.com
M.S., Educational Technology, Johns Hopkins University
B.S., Business Administration, Lynchburg College

Donna Weber
weberd@maryvale.com

Masters Equiv., Towson University, Loyola University
B.S., Mathematics, Towson University 

Physical Education & Athletics Department

Terri Moeser, RAA Director of Athletics

moesert@maryvale.com
M.A., Exercise Science & Physical Education, McDaniel College
B.S., Physical Education, Towson University

Marce Fackler Hughes '88, Department Chair, Assistant Athletic Director
hughesm@maryvale.com 
B.A., Health/Physical Education, Roanoke College

Tricia Giuffrida
giuffridat@maryvale.com
M.S., Applied Health and Physiology, Salisbury University
B.S., Biology, Salisbury University

Science Department
 

Dr. Karen E. O'Neil, Department Chair
oneilk@maryvale.com
Ph.D., Biological Anthropology, University of Illinois
M.A., Biological Anthropology, University of Illinois
B.A., Anthropology & Russian, State University of New York at Oswego

Melissa Conaway '96
conawaym@maryvale.com
M.S., Environmental Biology, Hood College
B.S., Biology, Muhlenberg College

Betty Coyle
coyleb@maryvale.com
M.Ed., Administration, Loyola University Maryland
B.A., Education, Stratford College 

Carole R. M. Gonzalez 
gonzalezc@maryvale.com  
M.S., Biological Sciences, University of Maryland, Baltimore County 
B.S., Biological Sciences, Mount St. Mary's University 
 

Veronica Sok
sokv@maryvale.com
B.A., Chemistry, Denison University

Emily Vitrano Waugh '03 
waughe@maryvale.com 
M.A.T., Secondary Education, Notre Dame of Maryland University
B.S., Kinesiology, College of William & Mary 
M.S.D.E. Advanced Professional Teaching Certificate in Biology 

Social Studies Department

Sarah Read, Department Chair
reads@maryvale.com 
M.A., History, State University of New York at Buffalo
B.A., History & Spanish, Canisius College 

Richard D. Englar 
englarr@maryvale.com
M.A.T., Secondary Social Studies, Temple University
B.A., History (Honors), Wake Forest University

Andrea Jacobs
jacobsa@maryvale.com 
M.S., Public Health, University of California, Los Angeles
B.A., Anthropology, University of California, Los Angeles

Julie M. Matthews
matthewsj@maryvale.com
B.A., History, Loyola College


Technology Department
 

George Kapusinski, Technology Coordinator 
M.B.A., Franciscan University of Steubenville
B.A., Political Science, The Catholic University of America   

Theology Department
 

Mary Pat Tilghman, Department Chair 
tilghmanm@maryvale.com 
B.A., Education, Loyola University Maryland 
Advanced Certification, Youth Ministry, Archdiocese of Baltimore

Katie Burke
burkek@maryvale.com
M.Ed., Elementary Education, University of Notre Dame (South Bend, IN) 
B.S., Accountancy; B.A., Liberal Studies (Honors Program), Villanova University 

Kristin Costanza
costanzak@maryvale.com
B.A., Theology and Philosophy, Youth Ministry Emphasis, Mount St. Mary’s University

Doug Demeo
demeod@maryvale.com
M.A., Christianity and Culture, Gonzaga University
M.A., Teaching, Tufts University
B.A., Economics, Holy Cross College

Glenda Snavely
snavelyg@maryvale.com  
Ph.D., Social Work, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign 
M.S.W., Social Work, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
B.S.W., Social Work, Indiana State University 

World Languages Department  

Sabrina George, Department Chair
georges@maryvale.com 
M.A., Spanish Language and Literature, Ohio University
B.A., French and International Studies, Ohio Wesleyan University 

Amy Belz

belza@maryvale.com
M.Ed., Administration, Loyola University of Maryland
B.A., Spanish, Notre Dame of Maryland University/Middlebury College
Advanced Certification, Youth Ministry, Archdiocese of Baltimore

Samantha Kymmell
kymmells@maryvale.com
M.Sc., Medieval Studies: French Medieval Literature, University of Edinburgh, Scotland
B.A., French Language, College of William & Mary

Victoria Matter
matterv@maryvale.com
J.D., University of Maryland School of Law
B.A., Spanish, Sweet Briar College

Yoani Rios 
riosy@maryvale.com
Masters Equiv., General Education, Central University of Las Villas
B.S., Spanish Literature, Central University of Las Villas

Glenda Snavely 
snavelyg@maryvale.com
Ph.D., Social Work, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign 
M.S.W., Social Work, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
B.S.W., Social Work, Indiana State University
powered by finalsite